MRT Putrajaya Line Phase One opening is postponed again

Image by By Abdul Razak Latif/Shutterstock

Kuala Lumpur, 26 November 2021 – The trial operations for the MRT Putrajaya Line Phase One section has been ongoing since 29 April 2021. Sixteen trains have been running between Kwasa Damansara MRT Station and Kampung Batu MRT Station in full-service mode daily but without passengers to simulate actual operations.

During this period, Final Detailed Inspection and System Performance Demonstration were carried out, but the two activities have not been satisfactory. As a result, Phase One of the line will not be able to open for revenue service in November 2021 as planned.

Previously, Phase One had been scheduled for opening in August 2021 but was postponed to mid-November.

Mass Rapid Transit Corporation Sdn Bhd CEO, Datuk Mohd Zarif Hashim said the MRT trains have clocked up over 3,000 hours of trial operations and a large amount of data had been gathered.

“Having gone through the data ourselves, we detected that out of hundreds of system modules being implemented; two modules require further refinement. We need to ensure all primary, secondary and tertiary layers of systems are stable before we take possession of the asset and clear it for operations,” he said during a media conference to provide updates on MRT Corp projects.

The MRT Putrajaya Line (formerly known as the Sungai Buloh-Serdang-Putrajaya Line) covers a span of 56.2km, with 36 stations from Kwasa Damansara to Putrajaya.

The journey time from Kwasa Damansara to Kampung Batu will take 24 minutes one-way. Three of the stations—Kwasa Damansara, Kampung Selamat and Sungai Buloh—are currently operational as part of the MRT Kajang Line. These stations will be transferred or migrated to the MRT Putrajaya Line when Phase One operation begins. Kwasa Damansara will be the terminal station for the two lines and will be an interchange station.

– Construction+ Online

Source: MRT Corp وان ایکس بت بت فوروارد